QuickBooks Online Sync Setup Guide

This guide will walk through setting up the sync with QuickBooks Online.

Table of Contents

Sync Overview

The following image shows what objects sync and in which direction.

Accounts under accountant consoles or signed up before 9/15/17

QBO sync image: payments 1 way

Accounts signed up after 9/15/17 not created under an accountant console

QBO sync image: payments 2 way

Pre setup requirements

In order to complete the Sync Setup steps listed below, please note the following requirements:

QuickBooks Online: To connect the sync, a Master Administrator or Company Administrator is required Bill.com: A user with the Administrator or Accountant role is required (or custom role with manage company and sync permissions)

Connect the Sync

  1. Click the sync icon and click Setup QuickBooks Online
    Sync icon
  2. Click Connect to QuickBooks Connect to Qbo
  3. Enter QuickBooks Online login credential
    QBO login creds
  4. Select the company in QuickBooks Online to sync
  5. Click Confirm Note: For accountants adding this for your own firm, select add app to firm Select company
  6. Review that the company selected is correct, then click Authorize Authorize The Sync is now connected. Sync complete

Sync preferences

After the first sync completes, fill out sync preferences. Some fields will be pre-filled, review to ensure the corrects accounts have been selected.

  1. Click Settings
  2. Under Sync, click Preferences
  3. Click Edit
  4. Select the QuickBooks Online accounts to use (we filled the list with your QuickBooks Online Chart of Accounts during the first sync) for the following settings (if applicable): Sync preferences
    • Sync Automatically
      • This ensures the sync is run at least once daily. The sync will run approximately 24 hours from the last sync time. However, the sync can always be run manually via the Sync Now button at any time.
    • Sync Only Approved Bills and Vendor Credits
      • Note: This setting is not reversible. Once turned on it can not be turned off.
      • This allows only those bills that have been fully Approved in Bill.com to sync to the accounting software
    • Unallocated Expense Account
      • This is where bills with no GL accounts specified in Bill.com will post to during the sync
    • Default Bank Account in Accounting Software
      • This is the default bank account used to record any payments made outside of Bill.com
    • Deposit To Account
      • Ex: Undeposited Funds is frequently used to record check payments received, but not yet deposited
      • This is the default account to record payments received outside of Bill.com
    • GL Account For Bank Account XXXX
      • This is where funds transfers for payments for payments made/received through the specified bank account will post
    • Master In Case of Conflict
      • If a record is updated with different values in Bill.com and the accounting software before the next sync, only the values for the record set as master will be kept.
  5. Click Save

Accounting Preferences

The following settings will be set based on settings within QuickBooks Online:

  • Show Account Numbers
  • Use Locations
  • Use Classes
  • Use Customer/Jobs in Payables
  • Use Items in Payables

To set additional or update preferences:

  1. click Settings
  2. Under Accounting, click Preferences
  3. Click Edit
  4. Turn on any other settings that will need to be available in Bill.com
  5. Click Save
  6. Click the sync icon and Sync Now to run another sync

Sync now

The sync setup with QuickBooks Online is now complete.

Things to know

  • The sync will only pull in invoices created or updated within the last 90 days from the date the sync is first set up
    • If an invoice older than 90 days need to be synced over to Bill.com, click Edit and then Save on the invoice - this will trigger an update. Since the sync queries for recent updates, the next sync will now pull in that invoice due to the update.

If you do not see the described feature available in Bill.com, you may not have access to the feature based on permissions for your role and/or your plan does not have this feature. If you wish to get access to the feature, please review the available plans for Bill.com and upgrade accordingly or contact the Administrator of your Bill.com account. Changes in monthly user fees may apply.