QuickBooks for Windows Sync Error: An attempt was made to modify a <transaction> with a date that is on or before the closing date of the company

Why the Sync Error occurs

This error occurs when the transaction is dated on or before the closing date in QuickBooks. When a Close Date and Password are set in QuickBooks, the password is required for changes that alter the balances for the closed accounting period.

How to Fix the Sync Error

Manually update the transaction in QuickBooks when logged in as an Administrator. QuickBooks requires that a user with Admin privileges enters a password. When completed, contact Customer Support to request that we mark the update made to the transaction in Bill.com not to sync.

Check the Audit Trail to see if the bill has synced

  1. In the left navigation pane, click Payments out
  2. Click the Confirmation Number of the bill you wish to review
  3. Click the more options dots
  4. Click View audit trail

If the bill has not synced

  1. Change the date of the transaction to be after the QuickBooks closing date (invoice date and due date)
  2. Change the closing date in QuickBooks to be before the date of the transaction
  3. Run a sync
  • Remember to reset the closing date

If the bill has synced

  1. A QuickBooks user with Administrator privileges needs to remove the password for editing transactions on or before to closing date
  • this setting is in the Accounting Company Preferences)
  1. Run a sync

Things to know

  • A QuickBooks Administrator needs to be sure to remove the Closing Date password
  • Without removing the Closing Date password from QuickBooks, the transactions will be able to sync into closed periods